Testimonials 2015-2019

Judy

October 3, 2015

Hi charles,

all settled back in london and s. america seems a long way away.  last saturday we are on a horse gently ambling through the Matetic vineyards and today we are at a wedding in a deconsecrated church in the middle of london.

the winery was lovely.  on the evening we met a  young couple with whom we did everything on the following day – breakfast, wine tour, lunch and riding.  the vineyard was around 50 mins. from the holiday inn, in a beautiful, lush valley.  the accommodation was antiquey, dinner great if a little pretentious, presided over by an ex. cruise line waiter, james, who took his job of explaining the food and wines very seriously.  the winery was a bit automatic, robot style explanation from the guide.  it’s a lot to take in but the particularity of Matetic is that they produce chemical free wine and do a lot of hocus locus with their soil and compost.  they use various roots, seeds and other bio ingredients such as bergamot  that they put into llama skulls or such and bury in the ground – don’t ask but it seems to produce a most potable wine at the end of the process.

the tierra was very good indeed, the staff most helpful and friendly, the food very good but we found a common inadequacy in s. america which was that they attempt to produce something “thai” to “Curry” and it turns out to be tasteless.  our little houselet was charming with both indoor and outdoor showers and a view towards Licancabur – the most iconic volcano of the region.  the [pool was operational though too small to really swim in and all the spa facilities available though we did not use them.  we did almost every excursion we could.

in summary, i thought your organisation of our trip was magnificent.  there always waS a taxi, if not with english speaking driver, at each hotel and airport etc.  and ironically, the only place we had to complain about was in your own backyard.  embarrassing for you but  only a blip in our lifetime.  i once gave your name to a tour operator in the US and i gave it to her again the other day and i will not hesitate to recommend you fully to anyone we know of who is coming to your part of the world.

keep well and greetings to lorena.

Judy

Jephta Peijs

March 1, 2015

Hi Charles,

I am sorry to bother you again. The trip went well and it was amazing. Everything was arranged perfectly.

However I forgot my E-reader in the room at refugio Grey. I have been trying to get in contact with the refugio and Vertice Patagonia by phone, e-mail and Facebook, but they do not respond at all.

Maybe you know how to reach them?

If they found my E-reader, maybe someone can take it back to Puerto Natales and we’ll head back there to pick it up. Other options would be to pick it up at El Calafate, Punta Arenas or Ushuaia.

Hope you can help us out!

Best regards,
Jephta Peijs

Nina

January 16, 2016

Hi Charles,

I just wanted to check in and say that we had a wonderful trip down in Patagonia and everything was perfect and ran smoothly. It is a beautiful destination!! Thank you so much for your help arranging it all:)

Cheers,

Nina

Catherine Randolph

January 28, 2016

Hello Charles,
We wanted to thank you for the great job you did organizing our trip. Everything worked flawlessly (except for the whale-watching, can’t control the weather especially in Patagonia), from the hotel reservations to the different bus trips and transfers. It was truly an amazing trip. We were also very lucky with the weather. I especially liked our stay at Tercera Barranca: Very kind, attentive staff, in an amazing setting, and a horseback riding day trip I will remember for a long time.

Regards,

Catherine Randolph

Julia Gordon

December 28, 2016

Hello Charles,

Hope you enjoyed your Christmas holiday!

I just wanted to write and thank you again for all your assistance in putting together a fantastic trip for us. Everything went just as we hoped and as planned. At each place you arranged we were expected and made welcome. There were never any hassles.

I understand why you had suggested another night in Pucon; the Antumalal hotel was delightful and we barely scratched the surface of the things to do in Pucon. But we also thoroughly enjoyed our time in Puerto Varas. I only wish we could have stayed longer in the Lakes District.

The Stella Australis cruise was certainly a highlight of the trip. One we would not have missed (even though it caused us to shorten our time in Pucon). And the stay at the Awasi and Torres del Paine was just amazing! The weather could have been a bit more cooperative – but if one is stuck inside on a rainy evening, it is certainly the place you would want to be “stuck.” We did have clear weather long enough to see the majestic views, get in a couple hikes and some great birdwatching.

There were 2 minor inconveniences that I wanted to mention, just for your future reference. First, we disembarked the Stella Australis at about 8:30 am. Our flight from Ushuaia to El Calafate wasn’t until 4pm. We discovered that the ship does not have any facilities, or arrangements with others, for storing luggage. The ship suggested the tourist office, which sent us to a nearby hotel, who sent us to private facility that was closed, etc. Luckily, the manager at the Canal Beagle Hotel took pity on us and some other passengers and allowed us to store our bags for several hours at his hotel. I recognize that this is not something you could have prevented, and I will be sending my comments directly to the cruise line, but just wanted to mention so you can prepare others. I would think this is a common problem that could be simply rectified by the Australis company.

The second item involved the glacier hike excursion in El Calafate. First, let me say that we thoroughly enjoyed this excursion and would highly recommend it to others. The only problem was in the information we were given. When we checked into the hotel, we were provided a confirmation packet that outlined what we should wear, and stated that the excursion did not include the park entrance fees and any food. (This same information was also reflected in the voucher you provided.) What was not made clear in the information given was that food needed to be brought in – there was no place to purchase anything to eat. As most people seemed to have brought food, perhaps we misunderstood, but I think this should have been more clearly stated in the information packet.

As I stated these were merely inconveniences – we made up for our lack of lunch with a superb dinner that night at Buenos Cruces restaurant in El Calafate! Please feel free to use us as a reference any time.

Thank you again and have a very Happy New Year!

Julia Gordon

SEASON 2016-17

Dean Royal

January 2, 2017

Good morning Charles. Just a quick note to let you know that we had a fantastic time in Argentina and Chile. Tough hike but definitely worth it. We appreciate all of your efforts in making the reservations – everything went very smoothly. If any future customers request references, we will gladly provide a glowing review of your services.

The only issue we had, which was no fault of yours, was that the kayaking at Grey Glacier was cancelled due to high winds that day making the kayaking unsafe. Big Foot adventures staff stamped he voucher as cancelled. I will scan and forward that voucher to you so that you can use it to get a refund as the Big Foot folks recommended.

Thank you.

Dean Royal

Tom

February 5, 2017

Dear Charles,

We are writing to thank you for organising a fantastic trip in Patagonia. The ice hiking on the Perito Moreno Glacier was superb and the W Trek couldn’t have worked out better for us. We had booked two nights in Los Cuernos which worked out well as it gave us a second attempt at the Vallee Frances, which was under cloud on our first try.

We have since continued our journey north through South America, enjoying the variety of sights and challenges that this continent has to offer.

We have already recommended you to friends considering a trip to Patagonia. If there is anyway we can endorse/promote your business we would be happy to help.

Thank you again and all the best for the future.

Kind Regards,

Tom

Hans-Peter

November 24 2017

Dear Charles,

Just a short note to let you know that we had a fantastic W trek, and after a nice navigation and glacier viewing on lake Grey and some rest at the Rio Serrano we arrived on board of the Skorpio 3 ready to set sail Best regards

Hans-Peter

Karen and Phillip Buckner

December 28, 2017

Hi Charles,

I just wanted to say thank you for a well coordinated and organised holiday in South America.

All of your connections worked wonderfully well and it was particularly nice to see a smiling face at the airport with a sign with our name on it to deliver us to our accommodation.

We loved the W trek and the people and landscape of South America. I would be happy to give a positive review on a website.

Thanks once again for your patience in sorting out our itinerary We will certainly recommend your company to others.

Karen and Phillip Buckner.

Martina and Family

March 16, 2017

Hi Charles,

Now we are already back in Bueno Aires and we will have to go back to Germany tomorrow – unfortunately!

We enjoyed the trip in Argentina and Chile. It was great and highly impressing. Your arrangements were perfect and did fit well with our expectations. And everything worked out fine and always in time. Thanks for this great job.

Best regards
Martina and family. 

Joe

January 8, 2017

Dear Charles

A note to say what a great holiday we are having and to give you some feedback which may be useful to you. I am writing this as we go to the airport post our trek and prior to the Santa Cruz visit while things from the trek are fresh in my mind. 

Park Plaza. As expected, we liked it, and it was familiar and friendly. Our bags did not make it onto our flight and they were helpful and rang Joanna as soon as they came which was appreciated. They arrived 1 day late – thanks Iberia!  We had anticipated this so had all our trekking kit with us just in case!  

The trekking was just terrific. We were blessed with glorious weather almost all the time and had just one wet morning which at least meant we got to use all the waterproof kit we were lugging around. What fabulous scenery, truly memorable and a great family experience. 

We spoke to one Australian trio who had elected not to use you (fools!) and their logistic travails made me understand how effective your operation is. Congratulations to you – it’s appreciated. 

AltiPlanico. Fantastic hotel and lovely staff. Expensive but fantastic Christmas Eve dinner. A nice celebration. Heated bathroom floors a delight especially on our return. Baggage all put in our rooms and laundry brought to us on return. This place is really tuned in to its punters. 

Catamaran. Worked well though we only worked out just in time that we had to pay at the desk that looked like a bar before a massive queue to pay formed as it neared the dock. 

Refugio Grey. We really enjoyed this place. The bar was nice if crowded, good food and comfortable beds. Lights and charging sockets in all rooms. Perfect. 

Bigfoot. Curiously they did not have our kayaking booking but it was too windy anyway. So they said forget that and come ice hiking instead. They only took the incremental money from us and said they’d sort the rest out – nice touch. The ice hiking was wonderful and was a highlight. Took 5 hours so we did not leave until 4pm for our next stop so it was a long, but well worthwhile, day. 

Refugio Paine Grande. Though large we liked this very much and though we only arrived there at almost 8pm everything was perfectly organised. We had our own room which was very nice and comfortable with everything we needed. 

Domos Frances. This was a lovely quirky place. The dome was comfortable with a reading light by each bed which was very nice. The eating area was small and very hot but very pleasant. We had expected liners for the sleeping bags but these were not available even to hire. Would suggest that you highlight this to all guests as the bags are clearly not cleaned or even aired daily. 

Refugio Chileno. We had the best dinner here, though breakfast was mean. It is a rather crammed operation with 2 sittings of breakfast and dinner leaving you relegated to your room for too much time. The liner for sleeping bag comment applies again. They do need to think customer a little more and provide reading lights as all other places seemed to have managed it – and also have something of a lounge area if they insist on having multiple meal sittings which is obviously a nice cash machine for them. They also tried to impose silence and promptly made lots of noise themselves. A challenging location in which to operate, I know, but we felt a mite exploited. 

We ended up hiring towels every night, though we had expected some Refugios  to provide. If we had understood this we would have brought our own which would have been easier as well. 

All transfers so far have been absolutely on the button with drivers introducing themselves and shaking hands. That’s really engaging and nice practise

Now finishing this off back home.  

We had an easy transfer from the south and on to Santa Cruz. We really liked the hotel, lovely interesting place, and that museum was just fantastic. Thank you for mentioning that – we would never have found it without your prompt even though it is so near. The wine tour and lunch at Lapostolle must be one of life’s best lunches ever. What a location, lovely people, interesting tour and fantastic wines. On New Years Eve we had room service which was quite fun as we got to see the spectacular fireworks and then fell into bed after a full days eating and drinking. 

Transfer to Zapallar took just 4 hours which was a nice bonus and our driver gave a guided tour as we went of the interesting things.  And the Isla Seca hotel – what a place. We just loved it and spent lots of time by the pool and walking down to the beach and the restaurants there.  We were well looked after though did not get to check into our room until about 6 which seemed strange but a very nice ocean view room in the main hotel for us and a decent triple room for the girls in the extension. 

Trip back to the airport was smooth and easy with a running commentary (!) and our BA flight, the inaugural Santiago to London flight, was great and we were all upgraded to premium economy and then Jill and I were moved to business as our screens did not work.   All the family like BA!  Very sad to leave Joanna at the airport but she is enjoying Chile and hope her next 6 months go smoothly. 

All in all one of the best holidays we have ever had, if not the best, so thank you for putting together such an enjoyable itinerary for us.

With best wishes for the new year.  

Joe

Chase

December 15, 2018

Hola Daniella

Trip was great thanks for assisting us. To let you know we arrived early and took a taxi to our accommodation. Can you please cancel the arranged transfer. Wr had tried to call but were unable to get through.

Thanks

Chase

Randy and E

December 13, 2018

Daniela:

 

We are so sorry we missed each other. We both wanted to give you a very small token of our appreciation of how wonderful your assistance to us has been. Thus the chocolates.

We returned to the hotel at 8:15pm to find your amazing gift of the bottle of wine, thank you!

Our 60th birthday trip has been so amazing because of your fantastic help. We both turned 60 years old in 2018 so we wanted to celebrate by proving to ourselves we were still fit enough to do this kind of trip. Your help made this easy, so THANK YOU!!!!!!

We will for sure write very good reviews on all of your social media sites. Please tell Charles we loved working with you. Your country is so much more than we ever imagined.

We met a couple, Dan and Kathy, who were at Cuernos at the same day as we were. They booked through you too. They said a lot of nice things about you and Charles as well.

You have a beautiful city!!!

Thank you!!!!

Randy and E

Ann Rappoport

May 24, 2018

Hi Charles –

I am over a year late in sending you this note . . . but wanted to thank you for the excellent job you did last year in arranging much of the 3-week trip that my husband, David Irons, and I, along with our friends, Clay Gautier, Gail Baker, Elizabeth Barry, and Sandy Rabinowitch, did in Patagonia. All the accomodations you arranged were just wonderful, the vans and drivers, and other connections all worked quite smoothly, and our stays at the Refugios were highlights of our trip. David and I also greatly enjoyed our day trip to see the king penguins on Tierra del Fuego! We were quite fortunate with the weather – had a beautiful day with full views of Torres del Paine for our hike there; had a rainy hike toward Mt. Fitz Roy, but then had splendid views the next day from the visitor center; were rained out of our hike to the French Valley but otherwise all worked well. And we Alaskan’s, who have seen many glaciers, were quite impressed with Perito Moreno. What an amazing national park – they have done a fabulous job with the elevated trails to protect the landscape, and with the views and boat trip to see the glacier. And finally, the food and wines were all quite delicious!

I’m enclosing a few pics of our group’s adventures in Patagonia.

Best, Ann Rappoport

Bruce

November 15, 2018

Dear Charles

A short note to thank you for your assistance with regard to our trip to Chile – both Anna and i had a wonderful time and the logistics and arrangements were first class.

We did not have any problems and Daniela assisted us with a number of issues over the two weeks.

A number of friends have asked for assistance with their trip planning and I will give them your contact details

Thanks again for your help in organising a wonderful trip.

Kind regards

Bruce

Jeff

March 23, 2018

Charles,

I wanted to pass that PTS did a great job for our time in Peru, from the tours they set up to the accommodations to the transportation – always on time for the ground transfers. We had a terrific time there.

Jeff

Pete

January 4, 2018

Hi Charles,

We got a ride back to Puerto Natales with friends, who dropped us at The Singular Hotel. So we do not need the ride from the Puerto Natales bus station to the hotel. Please could you let the driver know, so that they don’t wait for us? Thank you.

Everything went very smoothly, and the W trek was wonderful. Thanks so much for arranging everything for us – much appreciated.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Pete

Stephen Kerzner

October 24, 2018

Hi Charles, 

Valerie and I look forward to meeting you on Friday. Our day is open so you tell us what works for you. We look forward to meeting you in person and to thanking you for your guidance. We have had an incredible experience! 

Stephen & Valerie 

Marc

March 16, 2019

Hi Daniela,
We are getting ready to leave and I just wanted to thank you for helping us along the way. We had a great time and the weather was perfect. On the “O circuit” all your arrangements went smoothly.

Although, I thought you should know that at Perros they reserved us only one tent . I think you had arranged for 2 tents, just as you did in Seron. We had to rent another tent for Perros (20,000 pesos/$40 Cdn) because 1 tent can’t fit 3 men. Anyhow, you might want to check back with Perros camp to see how the mix up happened.

Thanks again for such a memorable trip!

Best Regards,
Marc

Gisèle Campagna

February 25, 2019

Hello Daniela,

We are back in Quebec after a beautiful trip in Chili and Argentina.

The W hiking was so nice and so interesting.

We did apreciated the hike and the refuge very much.

I would not recommand Paine Grande, it is to big, to much people and my Garmin watch as been stolen. Very bad experience.

There is propably a report at Paine Grande if you wish to know what happen and the reason why I would not recommand that refuge.

The others was very nice, clean and the food was ok.

You did a good jog with us, thank you very much.

Gisèle Campagna

Anthony

February 20, 2019

Hi Daniela and Charles,

The trip went very well. All connections were made and the weather was great. One thing of note was that my reservation for Chileno was in the refugio and not at the camp site. This caused the staff to be confused for awhile until they checked the system (vs. looking at the voucher).

Thanks for helping make this trip successful.

Best regards,
Anthony